What I Ate Wednesday

I have seen several new patients over the past few weeks at Acubalance, who have lots and lots of detailed questions about a fertility diet. Which is amazing! I love working at our clinic, and one of the reasons is that our patients are extremely well educated when they walk in the door – having gone through our website and started to tweak their diet and lifestyle. Kudos, new patients!

When it comes to eating to optimize fertility, there are many opinions out there – but a few basic rules and guidelines everyone who researches food and fertility will agree with form the basis of the Acubalance fertility diet. The four major tenants to our diet are:

 

  1. no processed food
  2. no refined flours
  3. no added sugar
  4. lots of vegetables, healthy fats and proteins

 

Awesome. If you can look down at your plate of food, and check yes to each of the above, you’re eating for fertility.

 

But it’s not always super easy to grasp at first.

 

I wanted to give a quick rundown of what the Acubalance fertility diet means to me. I live and breathe this diet every day – as do all of your Acubalance practitioners. So we’re your best resource if you have questions about what it really means. Hopefully this ‘how to’ will also shed some light.

 

Daily
2 servings of dark green leafy vegetables (spinach, kale, arugula, rapini, etc)

2 servings of brightly coloured vegetables (lightly steamed or cooked ideally)

1 serving of EFA rich food (flax seeds, chia seeds, walnuts, salmon, sardines, halibut, snapper, scallops, avocado, etc)

1-2 eggs daily

1 serving of nuts/seeds (1/2 cup nuts like almonds/walnuts, ¼ cup of seeds)

1-3 servings of fruits (ideally at breakfast or mid-morning)

Coconut oil or butter (ideally from grass-fed cows) daily

Whole grains (1/4 of a plate at lunch, ideally)

Water

 

Weekly

Lentils or beans 2x/week

Grass-fed red meat 1x/week

Organic chicken 2-3x/week

Grass fed liver or caviar 1x/week

 

For example… Here’s everything on my menu today. A little “what I ate Wednesday” to show you how this can work in real life. I usually prep two to three dishes on Sundays, and keep them in the fridge for quick-grab lunches or easy late dinners, along with a leafy green salad. Dinners can sometimes be very late, given my schedule, so I try to eat a hearty breakfast, lunch and snack in the mid-evening so I’m not ravenous when I get home at 9pm. What you’ll likely notice is…. I eat a lot during the day! And I’m not shy to share it. Regular snacking, good quality protein and fats, and lots and lots of veggies keep my mind sharp and my body able to do what I ask of it!

 

What I Ate Wednesday, by Dr. K

 

Waking: shot of Alkala powder, 500mL of water with my herbal tincture

Breakfast: handful of arugula, heirloom cherry tomatoes, 2 eggs sunny side up (cooked in organic butter), 2 organic chicken sausages; decaf coffee with almond milk, 1 tsp of coconut oil, dash of cinnamon

Snack: apple with almond butter

Lunch: spinach salad topped with radish, shredded beets, heirloom cherry tomatoes, cucumber, goat milk feta, pumpkin seeds, and homemade olive oil dressing

Snack: ½ avocado on rice cakes with a little Himalayan salt

Dinner (late tonight): 1 lettuce-wrapped grass-fed beef taco, topped with shredded veggies (carrot, beet), radish, salsa, slice of avocado

 

Throughout the day: Tazo Zen tea with a little honey (green tea with mint and lemongrass, my favourite), water with lemon

 

If you have questions about what you’re eating – and how it may affect your fertility – schedule a free 15 minute consult with me. I live and breathe this lifestyle, so I am happy to be your guide.

 

 

In health,

K.

Leave a Reply

