The Stop Doing List

I recently read an article about a Stop Doing movement that was started by one of my favourite empowerment bloggers, Danielle LaPorte.  It’s a movement that encourages us to recognize the importance of all of the things in our lives that we should Stop Doing; to familiarize yourself with your boundaries and things that hold you back from reaching your success.  She says – “On the path to defining your own version of success, what you stop doing is just as important as the things you start doing.  Read that twice, please.  Because this concept could change everything for you – if you let it.”

Her message is a powerful one – and it’s stuck with me for the past week or so since I read it.

What would happen if you stopped doing things in your life that you don’t want to do?

Things that you ‘should’ do that really don’t bring you any pleasure or gratification?  A chronic YES-er, I have found that my Stop Doing list has helped me say NO-thanks to things I really don’t want to do.  If it conflicts with something on my list, I’ll decline, graciously.

 

Here’s my current Stop Doing list:

1. Pretending everything will be ok, all of the time.  Sometimes it’s not ok.  And that’s ok too.

2. Putting off the inevitable. The inevitable is much easier to handle when I’m prepared.

3. Only reading books that pertain to my work, and denying myself the pleasure of a good fiction novel.

4. Acting like a boss.  I actually am a boss.  Boom.

5. Letting everything be complicated.  Simplify, simplify.

6. Denying that green tea tastes better with a little honey.  It really does.

8. Doing anything that makes my tummy drop.  This does not include roller-coasters; I love roller-coasters.

 

 

Here’s a link to Danielle’s original article for some more ideas.

What’s on your Stop Doing list?  And how would it change your life and alter your path to success if you followed it?

 

With hopes for happy list-ing,

K.

 

Leave a Reply

