Warm and Spicy Turmeric Tea

It’s certainly that time of year in Vancouver – the scarves and touques and puffy vests are out, pumpkin spice latte is in the air, and all I want to do at the end of the day is curl up with a blanket, a book, and a tea (which I’ve been doing on the regular).

So I was thrilled to find this recipe for a warming turmeric tea – made it for the first time this evening, and believe me it’ll be a go-to throughout the fall and winter months.

Why turmeric?  Turmeric is the ultimate anti-inflammatory herb.  It’s used therapeutically in so many conditions – arthritis and other joint concerns, cancer, infections, liver damage, Alzheimer’s disease, multiple sclerosis, obesity (increases metabolism), wounds, inflammatory skin conditions like eczema and psoriasis, digestive troubles, bacterial and viral respiratory infections… Need I go on?  And bonus, it’s possible to take a therapeutic dose for most of those conditions by just eating the powdered root in food!

Plus! This tea also has cinnamon (an insulin regulating powerhouse), nutmeg and cloves.  Mmm.. where’s my blanket?

I found this recipe on Meghan Telpner’s website here.

image

Warm and Spicy Turmeric Tea

Servings: 1 (just for you!)

Ingredients:

1 tsp cinnamon
A pinch of cloves
A pinch of nutmeg
1 tsp of fresh ginger (optional)
Turmeric to your preference – start with 1 tsp and go up from there 🙂
2 cups of filtered water
Raw honey, to taste
Mylk of your choice (I used Silk brand almond milk – the only brand that doesn’t contain gut-harming carrageenan, but coconut/hemp/rice or other mylk would work just as well)

image_4

Slow and steady method:

Simmer herbs and water together for 10 minutes.

Strain into a cup, add raw honey and mylk. Enjoy!

Quick blender method:

Boil water in a kettle and add to blender with herbs.  Blend starting on low, and increasing gradually so your blender doesn’t explode with the steam (apparently this actually happens) until you achieve an even colour.

Strain out tea and add raw honey and mylk. Enjoy!

 

Now grab your favourite novel, a warm blanket, and sip those troubles away 🙂

 

In health,

K.

 

2 thoughts on “Warm and Spicy Turmeric Tea

  1. What are your thoughts on natural flavours in foods? I am really struggling with which milk product is the best for me. Milk has casein proteins, and almond, coconut and rice milks have natural flavour and/or carrageenan in them. Goat milk is better than cow dairy, though I don’t have organic goat milk locally. I wish my life could be grand without a latte….but it is a love of mine.

    1. Hi Natalie thanks for your question!

      I really think that there is no perfect answer, unfortunately – everything you’ve said above is correct. In my mind, I prefer the coconut or almond milks and try to purchase those that do not contain too many extra ingredients (and avoid carrageenan when possible). Dairy, in my opinion, has so many other ‘hidden ingredients’ (hormones, antibiotics, plus any given carton of milk is a combination of up to 30K different cows – think of all the different components that exposes you to).
      I think all we can do is make the best educated decisions, and consume in moderation. I don’t have bowls of the stuff, just a splash in my tea.
      If a latte makes you happy, I say have one – with whatever milk suits you – and (most importantly) don’t feel guilty about it! The pleasure we get from food is almost as important as what’s in it. 🙂

      K.

Leave a Reply

