My Go-To Green Meal-In-A-Bowl

Ok I’m guilty! Of not being a consistent contributor to the blog in the past few weeks, and not being loyal to my vow of weekly posting. The excuse? I’ve been working away, preparing for some heavy-duty board exams at the end of the summer.  Apologies to anyone out in the inter-verse who follows (crickets?), and please know I haven’t forgotten about you.  I’ve been.. um.. avoiding, panicking, and denying all of the above.

Whenever I get stressed about school I have a predictable pattern – I get anxious about everything that doesn’t involve school (avoidance, projecting), my house is incredibly clean (avoidance again), I’m quick to snap (from the avoidance..) and  and my generally healthy diet goes completely out the window (as my sugar cravings rise and my give-a-care meter falls).  And of course, eating clean, exercising, and maintaining a relatively even keel are the most important things to do when one is trying to boost brain and memory function!  I’m reminded of the V8 veggie juice commercial – “thunk” (DUH!).  Being mindful of this pattern of mine, I made a me-to-me contract to not spiral in these last few weeks of studying.  It’s a big exam!  But I’m much bigger than it is.  And like it or not, caving to cravings and comfortable reactions is not in the interest of me passing this thing.

So apologies out, recipe in!

Here’s one of my favourite feel-good, guilt-erasing recipes.  I make variations on this green bowl based on what veggies I have in the fridge, and what nuts and seeds I have in the pantry.  It tastes clean and savoury, and always makes me feel like I’ve done something fantastic for my body (which I have!).  Without further ado..

photo

My Go-To Green Meal-In-A-Bowl

Ingredients:
1/2 cup cooked brown rice
2 cups washed, chopped greens (in this version I used baby bok choi and kale)
1/2 small yellow onion
1/2 cup other veggies to be steamed (in this version I used fresh sweet peas; raid your fridge!)
1/2 avocado, cut into chunks
1/4 cup mixed nuts and seeds (in this version I used pumpkin and sunflower seeds)
tamari to taste (tamari is gluten-free soy sauce)
tahini to taste (tahini is sesame seed paste)
juice of 1/2 lemon
olive oil to drizzle (about 1tbsp)
salt, pepper and spices to taste (I usually add a pinch of salt, a couple of grinds of black pepper, and some onion powder)

Directions:
1. Warm the brown rice in a sautée pan if it came out of the fridge, if cooking from scratch leave it be!
2. In a small pan with a splash of water, steam onion, chopped greens and other veggies until just wilted (2-3 mins)
3. Add the warm rice to a bowl.  Drizzle with tamari. Top with sautéed greens/onion/veggies. Drizzle with tahini.  Add the avocado and nuts/seeds.  Finish the bowl with the olive oil, lemon juice, salt, pepper and spices.
4. Take three deep belly breaths, shut off the TV or your computer, sit at the table and eat slowly and mindfully.

Try it!  I’d put money on you feeling better about yourself after.  Belly full of nutrient-dense dark leafy greens, omega-3s and other essential fatty acids, protein, and a ton of antioxidants – well, you’re ready to take on the world!

In health,

K.

One thought on “My Go-To Green Meal-In-A-Bowl

Leave a Reply

