Amazing Morning Oatmeal

Happy post-long weekend!

We spent some time with friends over the weekend, and (as it always seems to) the topic of conversation often came back around to one thing: food. From ingredients, to aversions, to making the best choices, to just “what’s for breakfast?” I find that food is a constant in my daily musings.  We all eat, most of us love to eat, and it’s a common ground for new friends and always stimulates a lively discussion. I get a lot of questions about what I eat, given my profession and the hours I’ve spent studying the topic… and generally my answer is this: I eat anything, in moderation. But it’s the definition of ‘moderation’ that I think is most important. For some, moderation means once daily; for others, once a week. For me, it completely depends on the food and my mood and the planetary alignment.. just kidding. Because I want to encourage adaptability in my body, I won’t avoid any type of food for more than one month at a time. The body has a funny way of becoming quite averse to something it hasn’t seen in a very long while, and I never want to have to refuse food offered by friends or family because of worry over my body’s response.

There is not a single food I can say I have never eaten or will never eat again. But on a daily basis, the food we cook at home follows some pretty general rules: always plant based (ie. at least half of every plate is made up of veggies or fresh fruit, every meal of the day), always whole/unprocessed grains if present at all (ie. brown rice, oats, quinoa), always high quality/local/hormone and antibiotic free meats when we do have them, and always, always a variety. For me, this is the best balance.

Long intro.. today I wanted to share a recipe for an awesome oatmeal I put together last week.  Oats are a fantastic grain, containing a mixture of soluble and insoluble fibre (to ensure proper bowel motility, feed your intestinal lining, and reduce cholesterol), beta-glucans that slow your insulin response (keeping your blood sugar from spiking or dropping quickly), and a mixture of phytochemicals (plant based chemicals) like lignans that can reduce one’s risk of cancer (especially hormonally dominant breast cancer). I love oatmeal as a warm meal in the winter, and will even store cooked oats in the fridge overnight to enjoy cool the next morning in the summer months.

Awesome Morning Oatmeal
Better than Good, these oats deserve to be called Awesome

Ingredients:
1/3 cup regular oats (or gluten-free if you’re sensitive – oats innately have no gluten in them, but are often contaminated with it during processing)
1 tablespoon ground flax seeds
1 tsp ground cinnamon
pinch of sea salt
1 cup water
1/2 ripe banana, mashed
1/2 tablespoon real maple syrup
1/2 tsp real vanilla extract
1/4 cup raw pumpkin seeds, almonds, and hulled pistachios
1/4 cup raisins

Directions:

1. In a medium sized pot over medium heat, whisk together oats, ground flax, cinnamon, sea salt, water, banana and maple syrup.

2. Heat for about 8 minutes, stirring often. When mixture begins to thicken and the liquid is absorbed, it is ready. Stir in the vanilla extract.

3. Pour into a dish and mix in raw nuts, seeds, and raisins. Pour a little almond milk over top if desired. Swoon.

photo

I started this meal with a cup of green tea and a bowl of fresh, seasonal fruit. Followed up with the oatmeal, and felt full until lunch!

Hope you all had a fun, safe weekend. ‘Till next time,

K.

One thought on “Amazing Morning Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

